What's new

Initial Review

Tygari

I would like to start off by saying I am an amateur game developer myself.
So I have experience with player's wants and demands and feedback.

When I saw this game it sounded interesting and despite the bad reviews I wished to give it a try.
I haven't played long yet so this is an initial review.
I feel this game is trying to balance short term quick action play with long term strategy / simulation play.
These are opposing game aspects that do not mix well.
The biggest issue here is the player's desire for control and the game's playstyle to simulate influence.
This is what is generally what I got from reading the negative responses.
I am going to break this feedback into bulleted points and try to be as respectful as possible.
Bare in mind this is an initial review from the period of time that is most critical in either capturing or losing a player.
So I have not seen all this game has to offer yet.

Let's start with the game's setup.

Game Start

A player makes a diety icon (which was a nice touch) and chooses a starting virtue.
That's it.
Everything else starter is randomized.
This is where I feel the developers could draw more interaction and depth by allowing the player to build their first disciple.
The first one is so critical I found myself just hitting reset if I had a bad start and redoing it over and over till I got a better start.
This is an annoying aspect and can easily be gotten rid of allowing a player to better enjoy the start of the game.

One of two choices can be done here.

A player could choose a stat focus and their first disciple would be guaranteed to get a Talent With that stat Focus in Major.
As well as allow the player to choose the first two skills of their first disciple.
Any time I didn't get these the ways I desired them for my playstyle I simply reset and let it re-randomize.